If Blue #15 is in an offside position and is fouled before attempting to play the ball, what should the referee call?

Prepare for USSF Referee Recertification Exam with our comprehensive study materials. Access flashcards, detailed explanations, and practice questions to excel in your test. Secure your recertification with confidence!

In the situation where Blue #15 is in an offside position and is fouled before attempting to play the ball, the correct call is based on the interpretation of the laws of the game regarding offside and fouls. When a player is in an offside position, being in that position alone does not constitute an offense. A player can only be penalized for offside if they become involved in active play, which includes interfering with an opponent or gaining an advantage from their position.

However, if Blue #15 is fouled before he attempts to play the ball, this immediately becomes a foul situation rather than an offside scenario. The rules dictate that if a player is fouled, the referee should award a free kick to that player's team, regardless of their offside status at the moment of the foul.

The focus here is that regardless of Blue #15's standing in the offside position, the act of being fouled takes precedence, and thus the appropriate call would be in favor of Blue's team. Therefore, the right decision would involve recognizing the foul committed against Blue #15, leading to a free kick for the team, rather than an offside call just due to their position. This highlights the importance of prioritizing the

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy