A Red defender kicks the ball to her goalkeeper, who then handles the ball in the goal area. What is the correct restart?

Prepare for USSF Referee Recertification Exam with our comprehensive study materials. Access flashcards, detailed explanations, and practice questions to excel in your test. Secure your recertification with confidence!

In this scenario, when the Red defender kicks the ball to her goalkeeper, the goalkeeper handles the ball in the goal area. According to the Laws of the Game, a player is allowed to play a ball that has been deliberately kicked to them by a teammate. Handling the ball by the goalkeeper in this situation is deemed legal, as it is part of normal play.

If the goalkeeper handles the ball after it has been deliberately passed to them by a teammate, no infraction occurs, and therefore, there is no reason for a free kick, penalty kick, or drop ball. The game would simply continue from that point, and the restart would generally be a goal kick or a regular continuation of play, depending on the next actions on the field.

However, if there were circumstances leading to an infraction (such as a player being offside or committing a foul), then the restart might vary. Since the question specifically asks for the restart when a ball is handled by the goalkeeper in this manner with no infraction committed, the restart is considered indirect free kick, which allows for play to continue without penalty as per the standard practices outlined in the Laws of the Game.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy