During a throw-in, if the thrower plays the ball after running onto the field, what is the consequence?

Prepare for USSF Referee Recertification Exam with our comprehensive study materials. Access flashcards, detailed explanations, and practice questions to excel in your test. Secure your recertification with confidence!

When a throw-in is incorrectly executed, such as when the thrower enters the field of play before releasing the ball, the appropriate action is to allow the throw-in to be taken again. Since a throw-in is considered a method of restarting play, the game is typically not stopped for a card or free kick in this scenario. Instead, the throw-in is retaken properly from the sidelines by the same team, allowing for proper execution according to the Laws of the Game.

In this situation, it is important to recognize that entering the field of play before taking the throw does not warrant disciplinary action, hence no card is issued. The emphasis here is on correcting the procedure without penalizing the player with a card, which aligns with the principle of promoting fair play and ensuring the game continues smoothly.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy