During an indirect free kick situation, when can the ball be played?

Prepare for USSF Referee Recertification Exam with our comprehensive study materials. Access flashcards, detailed explanations, and practice questions to excel in your test. Secure your recertification with confidence!

In the context of an indirect free kick, the ball can be played as soon as it is touched by the player taking the kick. This aligns with the Laws of the Game which state that an indirect free kick is called when a foul occurs, and the ball must be touched by another player before a goal can be scored.

This concept emphasizes that the key factor is the moment when the ball is touched, not when it stops moving, nor when the referee signals. There is no requirement for the ball to come to a complete stop before it can be kicked, nor is a specific time duration necessary before the ball can be played. Additionally, the referee's signal is relevant for starting the kick but does not dictate the timing of when play can resume after the initial touch. Understanding the rules surrounding indirect free kicks is crucial for players and officials alike to ensure fair play and adherence to the game's regulations.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy