If a player in an offside position receives the ball from a deliberate save by the goalkeeper and scores, is this an offside offense?

Prepare for USSF Referee Recertification Exam with our comprehensive study materials. Access flashcards, detailed explanations, and practice questions to excel in your test. Secure your recertification with confidence!

The correct understanding of this situation is that a player in an offside position cannot be considered to have committed an offside offense if they receive the ball directly from a deliberate save made by the goalkeeper. According to the Laws of the Game, a player cannot be penalized for being in an offside position if they gain possession of the ball after it has been deliberately played by an opponent, which includes a deliberate save by the goalkeeper.

This principle is based on the idea that the goalkeeper's action has reset the play in terms of the offside rule, as it is regarded as an unintentional play rather than a deliberate pass from a teammate. Thus, any subsequent actions by the player receiving the ball—such as scoring—are not subject to being judged as an offside offense under these specific circumstances.

Hence, the situation depicted in the question illustrates a key aspect of the offside rule, reinforcing that receiving the ball in this manner does not constitute a breach of the rules, leading to the conclusion that the goal is valid.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy