If a player takes a free kick and the ball touches the ground before entering the goal, what is the restart?

Prepare for USSF Referee Recertification Exam with our comprehensive study materials. Access flashcards, detailed explanations, and practice questions to excel in your test. Secure your recertification with confidence!

In the scenario where a player takes a free kick and the ball touches the ground before entering the goal, the appropriate restart is a goal kick. This is due to the fact that a free kick must be taken in such a way that it directly enters the goal without interruption or contact with the ground beforehand. If the ball does touch the ground before crossing the goal line, it is considered not to have been a direct shot on goal, thereby disqualifying it as a valid goal.

When the ball does not enter the goal directly from the free kick, and if it goes out of bounds, the opposing team is awarded a goal kick, indicating that they will restart play from within the goal area. This aligns with established laws of the game that govern how free kicks are executed and how goals are scored.

Understanding the implications of the ball touching the ground helps clarify the rules regarding restarts and the conditions necessary for scoring in soccer.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy