If Defender #5 trips Attacker #9 in the penalty area while attempting to tackle the ball, what should the referee do?

Prepare for USSF Referee Recertification Exam with our comprehensive study materials. Access flashcards, detailed explanations, and practice questions to excel in your test. Secure your recertification with confidence!

In this scenario, where Defender #5 trips Attacker #9 in the penalty area while attempting to tackle the ball, the most appropriate action for the referee to take is to stop play and restart with a penalty kick. A trip in the penalty area is considered a foul and, since it occurs during an attempt to play the ball, it is a direct free kick offense. In the case of a foul within the penalty area committed by a defender against an attacker, the laws of the game dictate that a penalty kick is awarded to the attacking team.

Choosing to allow play to continue would not be correct, as the trip constitutes a clear infringement of the rules, warranting the stoppage of play. Additionally, issuing a red card would only be appropriate if the foul involved violent conduct or denial of an obvious goal-scoring opportunity, neither of which apply here since the tackle was an attempt to play the ball. Finally, cautioning for unsporting behavior is also not justified in this context, as the foul directly leads to a penalty kick rather than a mere caution for misconduct. Therefore, the proper decision in this situation is to stop play and award a penalty kick to the attacking team.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy