Is it true that the ball is considered in play on a throw-in when it lands directly on the touchline?

Prepare for USSF Referee Recertification Exam with our comprehensive study materials. Access flashcards, detailed explanations, and practice questions to excel in your test. Secure your recertification with confidence!

The ball is indeed considered in play on a throw-in when it lands directly on the touchline. According to the Laws of the Game, specifically Law 15 regarding throw-ins, the ball remains in play as long as it is thrown correctly and enters the field of play. This means that if the throw-in is executed properly and the ball touches or lands on the touchline, it is considered in play because the touchline itself is part of the playing area. This is essential for ensuring that the game flows and is played seamlessly, as all players must adhere to the rules regarding the ball's status while on the field.

Other options might introduce confusion by suggesting scenarios that are not aligned with the established regulations, such as conditions that are dependent on the referee’s decision or specific situations involving opponent players. However, the straightforward rule states that the ball is in play if it touches the touchline, simplifying the understanding of throw-ins during a match.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy