What should be the referee's ruling if an injured player rolls off the field and play continues leading to a goal?

Prepare for USSF Referee Recertification Exam with our comprehensive study materials. Access flashcards, detailed explanations, and practice questions to excel in your test. Secure your recertification with confidence!

In this scenario, the correct ruling is that the goal is allowed. According to the Laws of the Game, when a player is injured and rolls off the field, if the play continues without a stoppage and the ball goes into the net, the referee recognizes that the game has not been interrupted due to any infraction. As such, the referee will typically allow the goal to stand.

It is crucial to note that the laws do not require play to be stopped solely because a player is injured unless the injury is deemed serious enough to warrant a stoppage for the player's safety. If the injured player left the field voluntarily and did not come into contact with the ball or otherwise interfere with play, the continuity of the match remains intact, and the goal is valid. This ruling emphasizes the principle of advantage, which allows play to continue unless it is necessary to halt the game for safety reasons.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy